Laketran August 2023 Board of Trustees Meeting August 28, 2023 4:00 pm-7:00 pm Eastern Time

1. Meeting Notice

2. Meeting Called to Order

President Brian J. Falkowski called the Laketran Board of Trustees meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

3. Roll Call

Brian J. Falkowski

Donna McNamee

Daniella Nunnally

Laura Pizmoht

Lane H. Sheets

Kim Stenger

Gary L. Swanson

Charles J. Zibbel

Benjamin S. Capelle

Brandon D. R. Dynes

Pledge of Allegiance

ΑII

5. Mission Statement

Charles J. Zibbel

6. Public Comments

None

7. Approval of Minutes

a. Motion to approve the Laketran Board of Trustees Board Meeting minutes of June 26, 2023 was made by Mr. Swanson - Seconded by Mr. Zibbel.

"AYES": Messrs. and Mmes. McNamee, Nunnally, Sheets, Swanson and Zibbel

"NAYS": None

"Abstain": Messrs. and Mmes. Pizmoht

8. Executive Session

 Motion to enter into executive session to consider the employment, promotion, or compensation of a public employee or official pursuant to Section 121.22(G)(1) of the Ohio Revised Code was made at 4:02 p.m. by Ms. Stenger - Seconded by Ms. Pizmoht.

"AYES": Messrs. and Mmes. McNamee, Nunnally, Pizmoht, Sheets, Stenger, Swanson and Zibbel

"NAYS": None

Mr. Zibbel made the motion to come out of first executive session - Seconded by Ms. Stenger at 4:20 p.m.

The first executive session the board discussed salaries and wages for directors and assistant directors. The board also discussed data regarding each and heard from Mr. Capelle about the various factors which apply to consideration of salary and wage increases.

b. Motion to enter into executive session to consider the employment, promotion, or compensation of a public employee or official pursuant to Section 121.22(G)(1) of the Ohio Revised Code was made at 4:21 p.m. by Ms. Nunnally - Seconded by Mr. Zibbel

"AYES": Messrs. and Mmes. McNamee, Nunnally, Pizmoht, Sheets, Stenger, Swanson and Zibbel "NAYS": None

Ms. Nunnally made a motion to come out of executive session at 5:02 p.m. - Seconded by Mr. Swanson

Second executive session the board discussed Mr. Capelle's annual review and his contract. There was a discussion about his performance and his increased scores on his evaluation.

9. Presentation

a. Information Technology Strategic Plan

The Faith Group presented the board with the results of the work they preformed to develop a strategic IT plan. After surveying drivers and staff and evaluating Laketran's current IT network including the various technology used on a daily bases, Faith Group recommendation is to put an IT support/help desk technician in place first and then add a Network / infrastructure engineer followed by a third party virtual cybersecurity resource and last execute the IT Strategic Plan.

10. Agenda Items

 Motion to approve the June 2023 Laketran, STS and Geauga Transit Operating Financial Statements, subject to audit and Laketran and Geauga Transit Capital Plan Review was made by Ms. Pizmoht - Seconded by Ms. McNamee

"AYES": Messrs. and Mmes. McNamee, Pizmoht, Sheets, Stenger, Swanson and Zibbel "NAYS": None

b. Motion to approve resolution 2023-021 authorizing the CEO or his designee, to enter into a contract for three years, plus two one-year options, for the sale of interior and exterior advertising on Laketran and Geauga Transit buses and vans to Eagle Advertising was made by Mr. Sheets - Seconded by Ms. McNamee

"AYES": Messrs. and Mmes. McNamee, Pizmoht, Sheets, Stenger, Swanson and Zlbbel "NAYS": None

c. Motion to approve resolution 2023-022 authorizing the CEO or his designee, to enter into and execute agreements for snowplowing and related snow maintenance services at Laketran properties was made by Mr. Sheets - Seconded by Ms. McNamee

"AYES": Messrs. and Mmes. McNamee, Pizmoht, Sheets, Stenger, Swanson and Zibbel :NAYS": None

d. Motion to approve resolution 2023-023 authorizing the CEO or his designee, to enter into and execute a contract with Classic Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram for the purchase of ten (10) minivans at a cost not to exceed six hundred sixteen thousand five hundred dollars 00/100. (\$616,500.00) was made by Ms. Pizmoht - Seconded by Ms. McNamee,

"AYES": Messrs. and Mmes. McNamee, Pizmoht, Sheets, Stenger, Swanson and Zibbel

"NAYS": None

e. Motion to approve resolution 2023-024 authorizing the filing of applications on behalf of Laketran and Geauga Transit with the Ohio Department of Transportation and any and all state agencies for state fiscal year 2025 transportation grants; for grants through the United States Department of Transportation; Federal Transit Administration; and State of Ohio Laws and thereafter executing a contract with the Ohio Department of Transportation upon project approval was made by Ms. Pizmoht - Seconded by Ms. McNamee

"AYES": Messrs. and Mmes. McNamee, Pizmoht, Sheets, Stenger, Swanson and Zibbel "NAYS": None

- 11. Six Month Look Ahead
- 12. CEO Report
- 13. Old Business

None

14. New Business

Motion to approve annual compensation increases on the first full pay in October seven percent for Assistant Directors and three per for Directors was made by Mr. Zibbel - Seconded by McNamee

"AYES": Messrs. and Mmes. McNamee, Pizmoht, Sheets, Stenger, Swanson and Zibbel

"NAYS": None

Motion to approve annual compensation increase of three percent for the General Manger was made by Mr. Zibbel - Seconded by Ms. McNamee

"AYES": Messrs. and Mmes. McNamee, Pizmoht, Sheets, Stenger, Swanson and Zibbel.

"NAYS": None

Motion to provide direction to the CEO to begin the RFQ / RFP process for legal services was made by Mr. Zibbel - Seconded by Stenger

Motion to amend the previous motion to change from RFQ / RFP to competitive procurement for legal services was made by Ms. Pizmoht - Seconded by Mr. Swanson

"AYES": Messrs. and Mmes. McNamee, Pizmoht, Stenger Swanson and Zibbel

"NAYS": Messrs. and Mmes. Sheets

15. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the Laketran Board of Trustees meeting was made by Mr. Zibbel - Seconded by Ms. McNamee at 7:01 p.m.

"AYES": Messrs. and Mmes. McNamee, Pizmoht, Sheets, Stenger, Swanson and Zibbel

"NAYS": None

Benjamin S. Capelle
Secretary/Treasurer

Brian J. Falkowski, President

LAketran Board of Trustees