Laketran earns safety award among transit peers

Lake County, OH –Laketran is proud to be the 2016 recipient of Ohio Transit Risk Pool’s (OTRP) Division I Safe Operators Award Recognition (SOAR) award. OTRP is a not-for-profit public transit risk pool that serves ten regional transit authorities across the State of Ohio.

The SOAR award was established in 2004 and is presented annually to the transit system that operated at a lowest cost per transit mile in the prior year.  In the 12-year history of the award, Laketran has won the SOAR award four times.

“OTRP would like to congratulate Laketran for their excellence in safety and this important achievement,” presented Barbara Rhodes, CEO of OTRP during the award presentation to the Laketran Board of Trustees on Monday, October 24, 2016 at the agency’s monthly board meeting.

“We are very honored to receive the SOAR award this year. This award is a reflection of our driver’s commitment to safety on the roads in Lake County,” shares Brian Falkowski, Laketran board president, “When you operate over 120 buses that travel almost 4 million miles in a year accidents are bound to happen, but this honor illustrates our commitment to safe driving to keep our community safe as well as our costs down.”