Proterra applauds Laketran, among recipients of FTA Low-No grant funding for zero-emission battery-electric buses

Proterra News | August 27th, 2018

– Secures over $35 million for 23 communities in 18 states across the U.S.

– Announces 18 new transit partners

– Reinforces its position as transit agency partner of choice

Burlingame, Calif. – Aug. 27, 2018 – Today, Proterra, a leading innovator in heavy-duty electric transportation, announced that 23 transit agencies have won Federal Transit Administration (FTA) Low or No Emission Vehicle Deployment Grants (Low-No) for Proterra battery-electric buses and charging infrastructure. A total of $35,676,600 in funding will enable new states and communities across the US to deploy zero-emission Proterra battery-electric vehicles and related infrastructure.

Electric bus adoption is growing rapidly among a diverse group of transit agencies from coast-to-coast. The 23 winning transit agencies span 18 states from Alaska to New MexicoMichigan and Maine, representing a new era of mobility as agencies in both red and blue states, and in rural and urban areas, implement electric transit programs. The Low-No grant funds will be used to purchase or lease Catalyst® electric transit vehicles, battery systems and charging infrastructure. Transit agencies that partnered with Proterra on their grant applications include:

  • AK – The City and Bureau of Juneau via The Alaska DOT
  • CA – The City of Arvin via The California DOT*
  • CO – Town of Breckenridge via The Colorado DOT*
  • CO – Summit County via The Colorado DOT*
  • CO – Eagle County RTA via The Colorado DOT*
  • KS – City of Wichita*
  • LA – City of Shreveport (SporTran)
  • ME – Greater Portland Transit District via the Maine DOT *
  • ME – ShuttleBus-Zoom via the Maine DOT*
  • MI – Blue Water Area Transportation Commission*
  • MT – University of Montana
  • NC – City of Greensboro
  • NC – Research Triangle Regional Public Transportation Authority (GoTriangle)*
  • NM – Atomic City Transit in Los Alamos via The New Mexico DOT*
  • NY – Tompkins County via Tompkins Consolidated Area Transit (TCAT)*
  • OH – Laketran*

  • OK – The Cherokee Nation*
  • SC – The Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester Council of Governments*
  • UT – Park City Transit via The Utah DOT
  • UT – Utah Transit Authority (UTA) via The Utah DOT*
  • VA – Transportation District Commission of Hampton Roads (HRT)*
  • WI – City of La Crosse*
  • WY – Southern Teton Area Rapid Transit (START) via The Wyoming DOT*

*New Proterra partner

A cornerstone of the Fixing America’s Surface Transportation (FAST) Act passed by Congress and signed into law in December 2015, the Low-No grants support the development of transit buses and infrastructure that use advanced technologies. Eligible projects included those that replace, rehabilitate, lease or purchase buses, bus-related equipment and facilities. Projects also included workforce development components to train the next generation of U.S. transit talent. This marks the fifth consecutive year that Proterra’s partners have received the lion’s share of the grants awarded, underscoring Proterra’s popularity and success with transit agencies across the country. With Proterra Catalyst® battery-electric, zero-emission buses, transit agencies improve their customer experience by offering a clean, quiet transit experience for riders. Adoption of all-electric buses is expected to improve the local air quality in each of the communities they serve, with zero tailpipe emissions. The 2018 Low-No grants represent a landmark year in the history of the program, with the greatest amount of funding awarded and 48 of 52 awards granted for battery-electric bus procurements.

“Now in our fifth year of Low-No Grant participation, it’s gratifying to see such widespread momentum and enthusiasm for zero-emission transportation and battery-electric fleets,” said Ryan Popple, Proterra CEO. “We commend these transit agencies for their efforts to reduce fossil fuel consumption and build a cleaner, healthier future together.”