Laketran board reappointments provide ongoing stability for the agency

At the Monday, May 18, 2020 Laketran Board of Trustees Meeting, board members Jon P. Marten and Lane H. Sheets, along with board president Brian Falkowski, were all sworn in to serve an additional three-year term expiring May 15, 2023.

First appointed in May of 2017, this appointment marks Sheets’ second term serving Laketran.

Marten’s reappointment begins his first full term with the agency. Marten was first appointed in March 2018 to fill a vacant seat.

Falkowski begins his fourth term on the board serving the agency since 2011. At the completion of his term, Falkowski will be one of the longest tenured board members in the history of the agency.

The swearing in comes after the Lake County Commissioners approved resolutions to reappoint all three members of the nine-member Board of Trustees. Trustees serve the agency voluntarily.

“I am extremely honored and pleased the Commissioners made the decision to reappoint our existing trustees. This current group works very well together, each bringing a variety of expertise to the table,” shared Falkowski. “We have worked very hard and accomplished a great deal in recent years to further Laketran’s mission of serving Lake County, particularly meeting the needs of seniors and individuals with disabilities by expanding our Dial-a-Ride services with the passage of Issue 2 last fall.”

“We also have many exciting projects in the works to improve our services including a new bus line to provide access to manufacturing jobs along Tyler Boulevard and we’re building a transit center at Lakeland Community College to house the charging infrastructure with plans to launch Ohio’s first battery-operated electric bus fleet in 2021,” added Falkowski.

The Laketran Board of Trustees are responsible for the general oversight of the Lake County public transportation system, including the annual budget and fare structure. Lake County Board of Commissioners appoint Laketran’s the board members.